FierceMarkets (http://www.fiercemarkets.com) today announced the winners of its annual Fierce Innovation Awards: Telecom Edition. The goal of the program is to identify and showcase the design and development of this year’s most groundbreaking broadband voice, video and data solutions; to recognize and reward the best and brightest operators, service providers and vendors for exemplifying what innovation means today; and to take stock of what’s shaping our industry, both today and going forward.

Kevin Gray, Publisher of FierceTelecom, FierceCable and FierceWireless, says, “We’re so pleased with the response to this year’s program. Our finalists and winners exhibit the remarkable level of innovation that we’ve come to expect from our applicants. The Fierce Innovation Awards create a platform which allows companies to stand out from the crowd, and we couldn’t be more proud of its success.”

Winners were announced across 29 distinct categories. The judges ultimately selected 5 companies and their solutions from the pool of individual category winners for special recognition as “Best in Show” winners.

Honorees were selected by a distinguished panel of judges which included: 
MATTIAS FRIDSTRÖM, Vice President & Head of Technology, TeliaSonera International Carrier; ROB HOWALD, Vice President, Network Architecture Comcast; RON MARQUARDT, PH.D., Vice President of Technology, Innovation & Architecture, Sprint 
DAVID A. MAYO, Senior Vice President Technology, T-Mobile USA; DAN MURPHY, Director, Verizon Innovation Program; MICHAEL WESTON, Senior Executive, Verizon.

Judges evaluated submissions based on Effectiveness, Ease of Use/ ROI, True Innovation and End-User Impact.

The 2016 Fierce Innovation Awards: Telecom Edition Winners are:

Wireless Networks Group 
Category: Next-Gen Deployment 
Winner: Core Network Dynamics for OpenEPC

Category: Spectrum Efficiency 
Winner: Federated Wireless for CINQ XP

Category: Backhaul 
Winner: CBNL for VectaStar point-to-point millimeter wave

Category: Small Cells/HetNet 
Winner: Katherin for Kathrein Street Connect

Category: Rural Wireless 
Winner: DragonWave for Harmony Enhanced MC

Category: Next-Gen Voice Services 
Winner: Verizon for VVQ-Verizon VoLTE/VoWiFi Quality

Category: Wi-Fi and Traffic Offload 
Winner: Aptilo Networks for Aptilo Service Management Platform (SMP)

Category: Smart Cities 
Winner: Alpha Technologies for AlphaGateway SMG

Wireline Networks Group 
Category: Last Mile/Edge/Access 
Winner: Global Capacity for Global Capacity’s One Marketplace Platform

Category: Core Networking 
Winner: Acacia Communications for CFP-DCO Module

Category: Managed Services 
Winner: ADTRAN for ProCloud Managed Services Portfolio

Category: Data Centers 
Winner: Vigilent for Dynamic Cooling Management System

Category: Business Services 
Winner: Zipwhip for Zipwhip

Pay-TV and Online Video Group 
Category: Set-Tops and Gateways 
Winner: Technicolor for Skipper

Category: Multiscreen Delivery 
Winner: Net Insights AB for Sye

Category: OTT Services 
Winner: Livestream for Livestream OTT Services/ Livestream as Platform

Category: Next-Gen Video Services 
Winner: Harmonic for Electra™ VS Convergent Video System

Category: Digital Media and OTT Monetization 
Winner: CSG International for Ascendon

Category: Encoding/Transcoding 
Winner: Ericsson for Ericsson E2E UHD Live Broadcast Ecosystem HEVC Card

Category: Advanced Advertising 
Winner: Placemedia for Placemedia supply-side platform

Business Transformation Management Group 
Category: BSS/OSS 
Winner: UXP Systems for User Lifecycle Management (ULM) Platform

Category: Service Orchestration and Delivery 
Winner: ItsOn, Inc. for ItsOn Platform

Category: Network Test and Measurement 
Winner: Accedian for SkyLIGHT

Category: Customer Engagement 
Winner: Netcracker Technology for Netcracker Omni-channel Customer Experience Management

Category: Network and Device Security 
Winner: Hiya for Hiya Cloud

Category: Conditional Access, Digital Rights Management and Authentication 

Category: SDN/NFV 
Winner: Viptela for Viptela SD-WAN Platform

Category: Cloud Services 
Winner: Sports 1 Marketing for Aggregated Marketing Platform

The 2016 Fierce Innovation Awards: Telecom Edition Best in Show Winners are:

Category: Best Internet of Things (IoT) Innovation: 
Winner: Alpha Technologies for AlphaGateway SMG

Category: Best ‘Green’ Installation or App 
Winner: Vigilent for Dynamic Cooling Management System

Category: Best Cost Center Innovation 
Winner: CBNL for VectaStar point-to-point millimeter wave

Category: Best Service Agility Solution 
Winner: Net Insights AB for Sye

Category: Best Network Transformation Platform 
Winner: Kathrein for Kathrein Street Connect

Honoring the most innovative product among all entries, and the product most likely to positively and dramatically affect service-provider business models across the board –

Category: The Judges’ Choice Award Winner: 
Kathrein for Kathrein Street Connect

More detailed information about each of the winners can be found in a supplementary Innovation Report published in conjunction with the awards program. To download the report, click here.


About FierceMarkets 
At FierceMarkets, our mission is as clear today as it was at our founding in 2000: be the first place to turn to for information-hungry executives in dynamic industries and a trusted partner for the marketing teams that need to reach them. Back then, we saw the coming power of blogs, web journalism, digital marketing and email communications, and launched our first email newsletter, FierceWireless, to begin fulfilling that mission for the mobile telecommunications industry.

Today, our family of over 100 email newsletter publications and websites carries out that same mission for many more industries and millions of users, while we also evolve to address the latest trends in digital media -- mobile devices, social media, native advertising and content marketing. Regardless of what the next trend may be, however, we remain fiercely committed to independent insights for our readers and marketing success for our customers. Learn more at: http://www.fiercemarkets.com .

All News